The Most Successful Nations In Women’s Volleyball Championship History 

The women’s volleyball World Championship is a major event in a sport that is becoming increasingly popular year after year. Only a small number of teams, however, have reached the top summit of the world rankings, even though there have been plenty of successful teams over the years, all of which have made their mark and left their names inscribed in the history books. 

The world of women’s volleyball has come on so much in recent years that websites such as Bovada now provide sports betting opportunities on all the planet’s top action.

This is a blatant example of how popular women’s volleyball has become in recent years, becoming one of the most thrilling sports in the world and winning over fans all over the world. With the increase in participation and competitiveness, it comes as no surprise that certain nations have dominated the Women’s Volleyball Championship throughout the years.

In this article, we will delve deeper into the most successful nations in the history of the coveted tournament, exploring their triumphs, records, and what it takes to be a champion in this exhilarating sport. These outfits know exactly what it takes to win, and their everlasting legacy is a testament to their dedication, hard work, and God-given talent.

1. Soviet Union – Five Golds

The most successful team in the history of the women’s volleyball world championship is the Soviet Union. Throughout the 50s, 60s, and 70s, the Soviets dominated the scene, collecting five gold medals in total and three on the bounce in 1952, 1956, and 1960. Their outstanding collaboration, coordination, and quality of players were the key factors in their victory. 

Lyudmila Buldakova, Inna Ryskal, and Tatyana Pozdnyakova were a few of the team’s superstars at the time who were able to work together and bring honor to their country. By utilizing the unique talents of each of their players, they were able to outsmart their opponents and maintain control of the court.

2. Japan – Three Golds 

As well as the Soviets, Japan has also been one of the dominant forces in the women’s game for several years. The Samurais were the ones that ended the Soviet Union’s 12 years of dominance in the 1960s, defeating them 3-1 in the final in 1962, before defending their crown four years later with a victory over the United States. The Soviets would reclaim their crown four years later, only for the Japanese once again to climb to the mountaintop and seal the gold medal in Mexico in 1974.

With a fast-paced style of play, Japan has been able to dominate the competition with precision passes, quick reaction times, and expert serves. Their players, such as Saori Kimura, Ayumi Tanimoto, and Haruka Miyashita, are known for their talent, however, the Japanese are now approaching half a century without winning the world championship. 

3. Cuba – Three Golds

Another example of a nation that dominates women’s volleyball is Cuba. The country created history by taking home a total of three gold medals. Cuba’s triumph came later, even if they weren’t as dominating in the beginning as countries like the Soviet Union.

Cuba had some of the top players in the world starting in the 1990s. Players like Magaly Carvajal, Mireya Luis, and Regla Torres propelled the group to success and made them a force to be reckoned with. 

4. China – Two Golds

China’s women have been crowned as the champions of the world on two occasions Just like Japan and the Soviets before them, China also managed to secure back-to-back titles in 1982 and 1986, in Peru and Czechoslovakia, respectively. 

China’s playing style is characterized by swift movements and tenacious defense, much like Japan’s. The force and accuracy of their players, namely Lang Ping, Zhou Suhong, and Li Yan, made it difficult for their opponents to keep up. 

5. Russia – Two Golds

Russia is the last team on our list and has managed to secure two golds in women’s volleyball championship history, adding to the five the country won under the banner of the Soviet Union.

With names like Ekaterina Gamova, Yekaterina Gamova, and Yelena Godina, the team was a force to be reckoned with due to the strength of their attack. The Sbornaya won back-to-back titles in 2006 and 2010, just as their predecessor did in years gone by. 


After closely examining the most successful nations in the history of the Women’s Volleyball Championship, it is obvious that commitment, cooperation, teamwork, and talent are necessary for success. These countries have risen to the top of the rankings by becoming experts at the sport and honing their on-court abilities. Their history serves as a reminder of volleyball’s beauty, excitement, and the thrill of witnessing it. 

Leave a Comment