Asia Cup 2016 Cricket Schedule, t20 Format, Venues Announced

Cricket Asia Cup 2016 Schedule, Time Table, Fixtures PDF: 2016 Asia Cup Cricket will be hosted in Bangladesh in t20 format. The full Match List is shared below. This is the first time when Asia Cup is played in t20 format. The tournament will be played from 24 Feb 2016 to 6 March 2016. This is the 13th Asia Cup Cricket and 5th time it will be hosted by Bangladesh. Teams who are playing in this T20 Competition are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Host.

Update: UAE won all the 3 matches played in qualifier round. They joined the regular 4 teams by beating Oman by 71 runs in final Qualifier. They finished 1st in the table and now they start the main draw against Sri Lanka on 25th Feb

Parthiv Patel is called as a backup for Indian Skipper MS Dhoni in Asia Cup. According to BCCI, while training Dhoni suffered a muscle strain in his back. Parthiv Patel played the last match against Australia in triangular ODI series in Feb 2012. Also, he had only played 2 T20 till date in 2011. 

BCCI has announced the ASIA CUP 2016 India Squad with World T20 Squad. Mohammad Shami and Pawan Negi are included in the 15 member squad.

Along these 4 regular teams, there is 1 Associate member which will be found by playing a qualifier to be played from 19th to 22nd Feb 2016.  From Next year, Asia Cup Cricket will be played in the alternate format. ICC announced that it will be played in rotation basis of 50 over competition or in T20 format. Next Asia cup Cricket is played in 2018. First Asia cup is played in 1984 in UAE and India is the 1st Champion. Sri Lanka and India both have won 5 titles. Pakistan has won it 2 times in 2000 and 2012 both are hosted in Bangladesh.

Asia Cup 2016 Cricket Schedule, t20 Format, Venues

Asia Cup 2016 Schedule:

Dates: 24 Feb 2016 to 6th March 2016
Host- Bangladesh
Teams: Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, UAE

No. Date Match Time
1 24 Feb 2016 India vs Bangladesh  19:00 IST
2 25 Feb Sri Lanka vs UAE 19:00 IST
3 26 Feb Bangladesh vs UAE 19:00 IST
4 27 Feb India vs Pakistan  19:00 IST
5 28 Feb Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka  19:00 IST
6 29 Feb Pakistan vs UAE 19:00 IST
7 1 March India vs Sri Lanka 19:00 IST
8 2 March Pakistan vs Bangaldesh 19:00 IST
9 3 March India vs UAE 19:00 IST
10 4 March Pakistan vs Sri Lanka  19:00 IST
11 5 March Asia Cup Final 19:00 IST

Asia Cup T20 Qualifier scheduled to be played February:

The 4 teams will take part in Qualifier round for Asia cup 2016 which will be held in Bangladesh. Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Oman and UAE will battle for the 5th team to play in regular Asia cup t20 2016 from 24th Feb to 6 March. The Qualifiers will include a single round-robin format in which all teams play matches against each other and team who tops the out of 4 teams will join full member teams. If two teams have same points, then the net run rate is calculated. read more

Continue reading »